Ass Burgers

I have Asperger’s Syndrome. I don’t really tell a lot of people or talk about it at all because I don’t want to be grouped with those un-diagnosed psychotics who use it as an excuse to be an anti-social douchebag. I’m looking at you Bronies.

I realize where my problems lie and try to improve on them. That’s not to say I don’t have mistakes every now and then. My good friends know how neurotic I am and how I use the wrong emotions for the littlest and dumbest things. At least I hope I do. I try to explain it but it’s easy to get angry at me when I’m like this and I’m surprised I even have friends left. Kudos to you! I used to be a lot worse when younger. I was filled with A LOT of rage for no reason and it was only until I began taking anti-depressants when I was twenty-three that I got a handle on it. It took me that long to get on any sort of medication because, for some reason, I was against anti-depressants until I realized that I better do something, my life is not going well.

One of the hallmarks of Asperger’s is an intense interest in things. That I have in spades. Some people have interests that last their whole lives, but there are some I’ve been known to gather and to drop. None of my interests can get me a good career, unfortunately (like those who may be interested in cars can become mechanics). My longest interest has been an obsession with author George Orwell (the title of this blog is a nod to him), when I read “Animal Farm” for the first time in the fall of 1998. The only time my knowledge of George Orwell has ever helped me is when he was the subject of a Lightning Round during Scholar Bowl in high school. I also love Ancient Rome, specifically the Julio-Claudian period (Julius Caesar, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius and Nero). In the past I was interested in Titanic, but that didn’t last long. Every now and then I read up on something Titanic-ish, for nostalgia.

There are other interests I have (or have had) but I won’t get into them now. I need to have some sort of idea of what to write about in the future. I’m only human, even if it’s a sort of pod person human.

Leave a Reply

